RSS Feed

Parallel Universes

Posted on

Do you believe in them? I simply can’t understand how it’s possible. I’m admittedly ignorant to many topics, including science. At least to the degree that talk of dark matter and time travel evokes mere speculation rather than any kind of concrete knowledge. I enjoy pondering scientific conundrums but haven’t really had a desire to do any hard research in the field. Perhaps I should start because recently I’ve had questions that have surely been asked about our existence and been hypothesized, scrutinized, finalized by others and posted here on the world wide web. A need to look into parallel universes is absolutely growing in my curious little self. You see, the thing is this, how can there be another (or infinite other) universes out there all inhabited by a me of sorts. Not the me of here and now but numerous me’s of similar traits but with lives altered, graced, cursed, taken, rewarded by different sets of varied circumstances. I mean, I understand the idea but when I start asking questions about its probability, it gets fuzzy for me. For instance, say my mom decided to go out with friends instead of the new sailor she met. My parents never fall in love, never get married, and are never blessed with the bundle of sunshine that is baby Erin. Then I cease to exist and in that universe there is no me. So I don’t exist in EVERY universe. Perhaps I don’t exist in ANY of them but this one. So they’re not exactly “parallel”, are they? You could apply this to any two people who ever procreated and you’d have  a world whose populous differs from the universe it’s supposed to parallel. You see my problem? I’m sure someone has an answer for this. Maybe in these other worlds everyone is still born to the same parents but does that mean that all of our selves die at the same time in each universe too? Because that would cause some problems as well. In one world I drown at 15, in another I live to be 100 and have 10 kids bringing into life a babies who have no other parallel existence. So help me out here science geeks. I’m not debating whether or not parallel universes exist, I just want to know how.

About eid2323

I've got a lot to say. I guess that's why most people start a blog, right? They've got thoughts, ideas, gripes, whatever, that they feel they must share with the world. Kind of egotistical, no? I mean, who's really going to read this? Am I so interesting that I can hold your attention over the rest of the world wide web? Strange to think that it could be possible. If you've read this far, you should know a little 'about me' as this portion is titled. Ok so, I live in Central Italy with my husband and daughter. He's an Italian citizen, I'm an American citizen which makes our baby...doomed, as well has a dual citizen. The cultures do more than clash. They kick, bite, and beat the crap out of eachother. You have to have a very worldly outlook to marry someone from another country. People around the world are raised very differently from one another. What's perfectly normal in one area of the world is cause for major concern in another. I stand in front of the fan to cool off when it's August and the heat is insane and the humidity keeps you sticky 24 hours a day. My husband is convinced I've some sort of superhuman powers to not have caught some serious illness by doing this. Sound senseless, it is. Italians are full of ridiculous beliefs that hold no ground outside the land of make-believe and nut-cases. But who am I to tell anyone that the sayings of their great-great-great Aunt Maria are bullshit? So I just listen and nod. Well that brings you a bit up to speed on my current situation, yeah? Ok so, read me blog now kiddies. Toodaloo!

2 responses »

  1. If they are real they are infinite, so there are as many as there need to be… But string theory prefers tiny little dimensions curled up very small. The whole thing is just so crazy it’s worse than most religions! Even the scientists say if you think you understand quantum theory, you don’t understand quantum theory…

    But it’s fun to boggle the brains once in a while, right? 😀

    Reply
    • Yes! And I have to admit that my mind is easily boggled. Not that I think I’m dimwitted it’s just that everything provokes a question from me. Why, where, when, how….I’m worse than a 4 year old!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

