RSS Feed

Why So…Grey? Post-A-Day 2011

Posted on

Today I saw the most dismal pair of people on the planet. They were the epitome of drab. I’d call them a couple but that would imply some sort of togetherness, camaraderie and there was nothing so meaningful in the appearance of these two. Let me say here that today was one of those bright Spring days full of birds song and budding flowers. The sun was feeling warm and the breeze from the sea was perfect. It was a flawless morning. Joyful simply for the life buzzing all about. I was thinking of the summer months to come, images of fresh coconut just sinking in when I was suddenly faced with these two awful figures. They literally stopped me in my tracks. Amongst all the colorful characters of the morning they were so very noticeable and in such a very bad way. They were “older”, perhaps in their 70’s. Even though they were a man and a woman they shared an almost identical haircut-longish on top, tapered at the neck, boyish. Their hair was grey, all of it, both of them, flat grey. They wore matching eyeglasses of the round variety with black frames. Each had on a grey suit which was the very color of their hair, with white button down shirts-the woman in a calf length skirt, the man in slacks. Both wore simple black shoes and walked with the same gait-a slow but steady sort of shuffle. They could’ve been twins, they were even the same height. I’d never seen so much grey in color and demeanor in my entire life. Their mouths were pin-straight lines of boredom. I thought, Christ! What makes people like this happy?? They need a little color in their life! I then gave myself permission to completely¬† lose my mind when I’m older. Lose the constraints, the inhibitions, the self-consciousness. When I’m 70 I want to wear costume jewelry, insanely big hats, a rainbow of colors and patterns that have no business being together. Other than when you’re 5 when else can you really do this and get away with it? The old have an opportunity to really shove it the younger generations’ faces. They’ve been through so much that social rules on how to express themselves just shouldn’t apply. If I feel the “grey” start creeping into my soul as I age I’ll have to remember my encounter today and grab a feather boa and be off!

About eid2323

I've got a lot to say. I guess that's why most people start a blog, right? They've got thoughts, ideas, gripes, whatever, that they feel they must share with the world. Kind of egotistical, no? I mean, who's really going to read this? Am I so interesting that I can hold your attention over the rest of the world wide web? Strange to think that it could be possible. If you've read this far, you should know a little 'about me' as this portion is titled. Ok so, I live in Central Italy with my husband and daughter. He's an Italian citizen, I'm an American citizen which makes our baby...doomed, as well has a dual citizen. The cultures do more than clash. They kick, bite, and beat the crap out of eachother. You have to have a very worldly outlook to marry someone from another country. People around the world are raised very differently from one another. What's perfectly normal in one area of the world is cause for major concern in another. I stand in front of the fan to cool off when it's August and the heat is insane and the humidity keeps you sticky 24 hours a day. My husband is convinced I've some sort of superhuman powers to not have caught some serious illness by doing this. Sound senseless, it is. Italians are full of ridiculous beliefs that hold no ground outside the land of make-believe and nut-cases. But who am I to tell anyone that the sayings of their great-great-great Aunt Maria are bullshit? So I just listen and nod. Well that brings you a bit up to speed on my current situation, yeah? Ok so, read me blog now kiddies. Toodaloo!

Leave a Reply

