RSS Feed

Post-A-Day Challenge Gone Awry

Posted on

I know I signed up for the challenge to blog every single day and I fully intended on conquering that challenge and making it all the way through 2012 as well (assuming the world doesn’t end by then). But here I am, all geared up to apologize to those of you who follow the little I have to say here on WordPress. So I’m sorry, really I am. I can see you all shifting your interests away from my half hazard attempt to post something every day. My once soaring stats are down in the ditches.

Let me try to explain what’s happened. Life. We had our little trip to Rome where I didn’t have computer access and honestly, anyone who can’t get away for a few days without their computer has a much grander life than little ole’ me. Next came my birthday and blogging just didn’t fit in between glasses of wine and grilled meat. Mmmmmm…MEAT. Oh yeah, then for the rest of the week my husband was on vacation and God bless him, I get NOTHING done when he’s around. We’re usually off somewhere doing things we never get a chance to do together since he works 6 days a week and instead of writing I watched movies and hung out with him. His last day of vacation was Monday. That morning we found out our friend and neighbor had passed away. Devestating news. We live in an apartment building and she was in the one right next to us. We shared walls. We chatted on our balconies while hanging our clothes. We borrowed and loaned sugar. We took walks together. We ate together. I could hear when her baby was crying in the night. I could hear her older son pout about bedtime. She was a very sweet, very simple kind of woman. Didn’t need anything fancy, loved her family, loved to cook and was a wonderful friend. She died of pancreatic cancer, she was only 35.  Her youngest son only 6 months old. So so sad. A tragedy. Hers was the 2nd funeral I’d ever been to. It was standing room only which is a pretty good indicator of what people thought of her. It’s taken a few days for me to regain some control over my emotions. I cried a lot and ate even more. Apparently that’s how I deal with such news. Death makes a lot of people want to call everyone they care for and tell them how much they love them. It was different for me. After the shock, I felt that life was passing me by. I was reminded of how finite our time here is and how much more I want to do. Ironically, my new favorite T.V. show is called Dexter. It’s about a serial killer and it’s awesome. In the last episode there was a man who repeatedly said, “Tick Tick Tick, that’s the sound of your life running out”. And now I can actually hear it.

So wanted to say, I’m back on track now and you can count on me to post every single day from now on. Unless life happens agian….

About eid2323

I've got a lot to say. I guess that's why most people start a blog, right? They've got thoughts, ideas, gripes, whatever, that they feel they must share with the world. Kind of egotistical, no? I mean, who's really going to read this? Am I so interesting that I can hold your attention over the rest of the world wide web? Strange to think that it could be possible. If you've read this far, you should know a little 'about me' as this portion is titled. Ok so, I live in Central Italy with my husband and daughter. He's an Italian citizen, I'm an American citizen which makes our baby...doomed, as well has a dual citizen. The cultures do more than clash. They kick, bite, and beat the crap out of eachother. You have to have a very worldly outlook to marry someone from another country. People around the world are raised very differently from one another. What's perfectly normal in one area of the world is cause for major concern in another. I stand in front of the fan to cool off when it's August and the heat is insane and the humidity keeps you sticky 24 hours a day. My husband is convinced I've some sort of superhuman powers to not have caught some serious illness by doing this. Sound senseless, it is. Italians are full of ridiculous beliefs that hold no ground outside the land of make-believe and nut-cases. But who am I to tell anyone that the sayings of their great-great-great Aunt Maria are bullshit? So I just listen and nod. Well that brings you a bit up to speed on my current situation, yeah? Ok so, read me blog now kiddies. Toodaloo!

4 responses »

  1. Good to see you back online. It is sad to hear about your neighbour. Death is always so confronting! Enjoy each day.

    cheers
    Lorraine

    Reply
  2. Jackie Paulson 1966

    “when your hubbby is around you get nothing done” that is a post you do need to do. LOL, DITTO for me. Glad you are back! Jackie loves your blog

    Reply
    • I totally would but he’s so into reading my posts that I’d feel bad going on a rant about my uselessness when he’s around 🙂 That and it’d be the longest post ever. Thanks for your appreciation, I’ll try to keep it interesting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

