RSS Feed

My “Bucket List”

Posted on

So I guess we’ve all got one whether we’ve put down on paper or not. We all know those things we’d like to do before we “kick the bucket”.  Here are mine:

1. Experience olympian-type physical fitness. I just want to know what it feels like for my body to be running at its optimum level… how humans are supposed to live.

2. Adopt a spider monkey and name him Ampersand after the one in the comic ‘Y The Last Man’. I’m certain he will be so well-trained that at some point he’ll save my life or, at the very least, keep me wildly entertained.

3. Run a marathon. I guess just to know I’m able. I think there’s a lot of psychological endurance in marathon runners as well as physical stamina.

4. Hold my grandchild. This one’s not up to me but it’s still something I’d like to do before I die.

5. Get a degree….in anything. I just want to say, “SEE! I can’t SPELL but I can sure as hell LEARN!”

6. Go to an archeological dig anywhere in the world. I’d be happy if I found a little bowl or something. I wonder what the future generations might find from my home?

7. Go to every continent. I’d LIKE to go to every country but I just don’t know if that’ll be possible without a BOAT LOAD of cash.

8. Make a BOAT LOAD of cash.

9. Publish ANYTHING.

10. Become such a great cook that I’ll have no more use for my cookbooks.

11. Buy a home…with a tree.

12. Learn to play my guitar. It’s currently in another country, sitting in the basement of my mother’s house. I guess that one will take some time. Who am I kidding?? ALL of these are going to take some time!

13. Buy a boat…with a captain.

14. Take that boat through every available water way.

15. Go through the Amazon with Bear Grylls! Yeeeesss!

16. Take an Alaskan cruise and watch the whales.

17. Eat Indian food in India.

18. Master another language. I can hardly say I’m fluent in Italian even though I live in Italy. It’s HARD man! One day I’ll get it but for now I’m more at intermediate level.

19. Eat one of those $200 hamburgers here: http://sillymillions.com/worlds-most-expensive-hamburger   Oh man, I’m hungry just looking at that juicy goodness..mmmmmmmmmm

20. Obtain some kind of life time pass for a first class seat on every flight I take. Seriously, the difference is HUGE….WORLDS apart, I’m telling you.

21. Have a little mini farm. Some chickens for eggs, a cow for milk and cheese (hey! I’ve milked a cow before! Pfffft! This chick gets things DONE), some lambies just because they’re sweet, a collie (right? what other dog belongs on a farm?), and a barn so I can jump out the loft onto a pile of hay.

22. Go snorkeling in Australia.

23. Be happy.

About eid2323

I've got a lot to say. I guess that's why most people start a blog, right? They've got thoughts, ideas, gripes, whatever, that they feel they must share with the world. Kind of egotistical, no? I mean, who's really going to read this? Am I so interesting that I can hold your attention over the rest of the world wide web? Strange to think that it could be possible. If you've read this far, you should know a little 'about me' as this portion is titled. Ok so, I live in Central Italy with my husband and daughter. He's an Italian citizen, I'm an American citizen which makes our baby...doomed, as well has a dual citizen. The cultures do more than clash. They kick, bite, and beat the crap out of eachother. You have to have a very worldly outlook to marry someone from another country. People around the world are raised very differently from one another. What's perfectly normal in one area of the world is cause for major concern in another. I stand in front of the fan to cool off when it's August and the heat is insane and the humidity keeps you sticky 24 hours a day. My husband is convinced I've some sort of superhuman powers to not have caught some serious illness by doing this. Sound senseless, it is. Italians are full of ridiculous beliefs that hold no ground outside the land of make-believe and nut-cases. But who am I to tell anyone that the sayings of their great-great-great Aunt Maria are bullshit? So I just listen and nod. Well that brings you a bit up to speed on my current situation, yeah? Ok so, read me blog now kiddies. Toodaloo!

8 responses »

  1. Looks like such a wonderful list! Came across your blog and list here… I love Italy and would definitely want to pick up the language one day..

    I’ve just completed an iPhone app (adream) where people can share their dreams, goals and journey in a fun way. Let me know if it helps you :)

    Best, Ray

    http://twitter.com/raytanys

    adream – http://adre.am/app (iPhone app)

    Reply
  2. Georgia Marketos

    Hello–It’s been so long, I know. The end of the school year was hectic, followed by a few short trips (one to Italy) and a longer one to northern Evia for some R&R in August. Now I’m back at school. Classes begin on the 12th but for the time being, we have meetings galore. Just wanted to thank you for the books. The one I enjoyed the most was the one about Lincoln and Darwin. Great author. I’ve also read a book of his about Paris. I will pass them on to other avid readers and will try to send you some with my hubby when he comes to your area next time. I’ll see what else I can find for you…won’t tell you. Will keep you in suspense. How is Eva? Still a little devil? Hope you had a restful summer without too much heat and humidity and that you are doing interesting things now. I’m expecting some friends from the States in 10 days and we will spend 2 afternoons together. I’m sure the weather will be fine since it usually stays warm until the middle of November! Take care. Greetings to D.

    Reply
  3. Most things on this list i really want to do know!
    Specially 7,8,9,10,11,13,14,15,16,18,20,21,22 and finally 23! Thanks for the ideas!;)

    Reply
  4. Sounds like a great list! I look forward to hearing about all of your adventures (and in India, they just call it food)

    Reply
    • I know, it’s just that I assign labels to all the food I eat no matter who I’m talking to. I live in Italy and when I was pregnant I had a REALLY hard time with Italian food for the first 3 moths (pasta, tomato sauce, mozzarella, fried things, etc.) and I was living with my mother-in-law at the time. I told her that Italian food just wasn’t sitting well with me and she was like, “What do you MEAN “Italian food”?? It’s just FOOD!” :o)

      Reply
  5. Great list E! I’m right there with you on the degree and the boat. They both would be super cool to have. That boat load of cash would be handy as well! But, 200 bones for a burger… Yikes! It does look really good though. :)

    Reply
    • I’m a huge foodie though. Not huge in actual size, mind you, I just love to eat ;o) So if I had it to spend, sure, I’d buy the $200 burger. Anyway, with my riches I will be able to afford it right?? Oh and I love that you call me E.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

